Wednesday, October 7, 2009

OK, now I really have to update. Have basically kept with the training schedule. Last week did 2 on treadmill Tuesday, 7 on treadmill Thursday, and 10 on the greenway (10.8 per mile). Long runs before that 9 @ 10.6 and 8 @ 10.25. So basically I'm looking at probably 10.5 per mile. Not what I'd hoped for but that is what I'm going with. Hoping the new shoes I got might help with the hamstring problem. The salesman said I might have had a shoe that had too much restriction on the arch. I'm hoping he's right. Running without hamstring pain would be a blessing. :)

Let me know how you are doing, Jen.

Friday, September 18, 2009

I have not been faithful at updating the blog :(. Last week I did 2 on the treadmill Tuesday, 7 on the treadmill on Thursday and ran the chicken run 10K on Saturday. Finished 15th in my age group with 1:03:27. Better than I did at the Redbud 10k a few years ago. My hamstrings hampered me but I didn't quit! Looking forward to San Fran. This week I've done another 2 on treadmill Tuesday and 7 today. Very slow. Haven't got used to pacing myself when watching the movie :) On the other hand, I'm getting faster at starting the movie! Went to lunch with a friend today that said the hill in downtown San Fran is straight up. Ugh.

Sunday, September 6, 2009

On last Thursday, the 3rd, ran 6 on the treadmill. Took forever because I couldn't figure out how to get the movie to play in the Playstation 3. I had to have something to do! Anyway, it was a total of 80 min. which seems really slow but I felt like I had a good run. Need to run this p.m. 7 miles. Hoping the rain stays away. If not I will get up and run in the a.m. (what I should have done today) and ride the bike on Tuesday for 8 (2 running miles). We'll see. Tons of homework to do. GO POKES!

Tuesday, September 1, 2009

Ran about 2.5 today in 31 min. Coco and I did another .5 after that. Felt pretty good. Did do 10 and 1 interval. Hamstrings are still tight. Tight when I start off and then just get worse. Stretching not doing too much good. Ended strong.
Sunday ran between 7 and 8 in 80 minutes. Probably not a good time but felt pretty good when I was done. Did about 10 min. intervals with a few breaks in between. It was cool which helped a lot :)

Thursday, August 27, 2009

Well had to resort to the dreadmill today due to rain. 5.3 miles. I ended up doing intervals but not at the pace I was shooting for. Had to watch the hamstring though. 66 min for 5.0 miles. Walked the first 4 minutes. It was supposed to be 1 mile warmup, 3 miles at 10:04, and another mile cool down. I ended up doing .5 mile intervals with .25 between.

Wednesday, August 26, 2009

Tuesday ran 2.3 miles but it felt like 22.3. Legs were tired and couldn't catch my breath. Might have been 1/2 c. coffee I had earlier in the a.m. Was really fatigued. Maybe because that time of the month is coming :(. 12.6 per mile? yuck.
Sunday ran 6.0 miles and it went good for the first 15 min. then 10, then sporadic, 5:1 after that. Ran and felt pretty good. apparently not too fast. 13.3 per mile. yuck.

Tuesday, August 18, 2009

Looked up my official time for last Saturday's race and turns out I didn't do so bad. Averaged 9:54 per mile and finished in 30:41. Hoping to break under 30, but not too bad. Ah, something to work towards :)
Quinton looked up the standings and said I came in 9th for my age group for Fenton Payne. What does that say about the turnout :)

Ran 2.5 today in 31.5 minutes. Not too shabby. Hip was really bothering me. Many miles between me and San Fran.

Saturday, August 15, 2009

Quinton and I ran the Fenton Payne 5k today. Went pretty well (w/o my ipod). Quinton took off at the start and that was the last I saw of him until the finish :) Ran about 31 minutes. Q ran about 27. Not too bad considering all my ailments :) Stopped a few times. I really enjoyed our first race together/Q's first race. Went for coffee and muffins after :)

Thursday, August 13, 2009

Biking today. Rode 18 miles in 1:16. My legs were still sore from long run on Tuesday. Definitely needed a change of pace :). Looking forward to the 5k on Saturday.

Tuesday, August 11, 2009

Today was a pretty good training day. I did 5.5 miles by myself and one more mile with my trusty companion Coco :) Started out 10:1, 10:1 then switched to 5:1 . . . . Really high humidity! time was about 69 minutes for 5.5. Did some hills too . . . and lived to tell about it.

Monday, August 10, 2009

Well, instead of long run on Sunday, I did long bike ride with lots of hills :) 20 miles in about 1:25 hrs. Went pretty well but I was sure glad to be home. Legs actually felt pretty good and hip was hardly sore at all. It's back to the pavement tomorrow :)

Saturday, August 8, 2009

Oh yea, feed the fish by clicking on a space in the square. It will drop fish food. Kind of fun :)
OK Jen. First posting to our blog. Hope you like it. The about me is from my blog I made for school. You can edit anything you want. The background, anything! I think this will be a great way for us to stay in touch. I'm usually on my email runnertn66@gmail.com daily. I can access it downstairs.

How's the training going? Mine is slow but sure. Running between 4 -5 miles with stops. I've signed up for a 5k next weekend with Q. I figure I need to get out and get back into the race mode. There's a 10k in September I'm going to run too. Ran this past Tuesday about 4 but nearly died! I got a late start and when I got home and checked weather channel the heat index was 96 percent. Did another 4 (3.9) on Thursday. Today was bike day but will rotate that to tomorrow since I didn't get up early enough plus have to go school clothes shopping. Tax free weekend and school starts on Monday.

Post what you can when you can. I hope you find this helpful. I figure we can use it like a log.

Let me know what you think. Love ya girl!

x